(Honolulu, Hawaii, August 26, 2011) – The Pacific Century Fellows program is pleased to announce the selection of its 13th class of Fellows, comprised of 38 men and women.  Particularly noteworthy is the fact that this year’s class will include seven members from the neighbor islands of Kauai, Molokai and the Big Island of Hawai`i, the largest contingent since inception. The program identifies, encourages and helps to develop and strengthen island leaders.  
Modeled after the White House Fellows Program and founded in 1996 by former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann, the Pacific Century Fellows are chosen on the basis of written applications and personal interviews conducted by a blue-ribbon panel of judges.  In evaluating the candidates, the committee considers educational background; current career responsibilities, noting any special achievements as well as the comments of superiors; involvement in community activities; communication skills; and strength of character.  Chosen individuals have shown strong intellectual and leadership abilities in the early and mid-stages of their careers, and demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to the community in the future.

The Pacific Century Fellows program will provide participants with direct contact with senior community, social, and government leaders.  A goal of the program is to nurture relationships among individuals who are committed to exploring creative and constructive solutions to far-reaching challenges facing the state and nation.
Hannemann, a former White House Fellow (1983-84) who worked for then-Vice President George H.W. Bush in the Reagan administration, said, “With our 13th class of Fellows participating in this unique executive leadership program, we continue to build a cadre of bright, talented and energetic professionals who will make contributions to the betterment of Hawaii in the years to come.  Many of our previous Fellows already have made a positive impact in our community, and this class will be no different. This year’s class represents a broad cross-section of our community.  They come from all parts of the state, with different backgrounds and professions—all committed to making Hawaii a better place for generations to come.”

Those selected include:
  • Bryan Andaya (39) Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, L & L Franchise 
  • Blair Collis (39) President & CEO, Bernice Pauahi Bishop Museum
  • Ty Cullen (30) State Representative, District 41, Hawai`i State House of Representatives
  • Michael Dahilig (30) (Kauai) Director of Planning, County of Kauai
  • Kay Fukunaga (28) Associate / Investment Manager, Ulupono Initiative
  • Kimberly Funasaki (39) President & Founder, Little Ambassadors
  • Daniel Goya (43) Program Manager-Ka Pa`alana, Partners in Development Foundation 
  • Nicolaus Grauer (35) Speech Writer for the Commander, U.S. Pacific Command
  • Lisa Hadway (39) (Hawai`i) Manager, Natural Area Reserves System, State Department of Land & Natural Resources
  • Richard Scott Humber (40) Assistant News Director, Hawai`i News Now / Raycom Media 
  • Garan Ito (40) Manager, Molecular Diagnostics/Biorepository, The Queen’s Medical Center
  • Kevin Kawahara (37) Technical Solutions Manager, Punahou School
  • Traci Ho Kim (30) Director-Investor Relations & Strategic Planning, Hawaiian Electric Industries (HEI)
  • Nathaniel Kinney (31) Director of Business Development, District Council 50
  • Patrick Klein (34) Director of Classified Advertising, Oahu Publications dba: Honolulu Star-Advertiser
  • Kimberly Koide (32) Associate Attorney, Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel, LLP
  • Dawn Lippert (27) Project Manager, Hawaii Renewable Energy Development Venture
  • Nicole Littenberg, M.D. (38) Forensic Examiner & Director of High-Risk Victims Clinic, Sex Abuse Treatment Center
  • John Lynham, Ph.D.  (30) Assistant Professor, Dept. of Economics, University of Hawai`i
  • Matthew Megorden (43) Investment Advisor-Financial Planner, UBS Financial Services, Inc.
  • Donn Mende (40) (Hawai`i) Assistant Vice President/Branch Manager, Hawai`i National Bank
  • Vicki Nakata (35) Managing Director, Partnerships & Ancillary Review, Hawaiian Airlines
  • Corlyn Orr (39) Senior Planner, Helber Hastert & Fee, Planners
  • Alana Pakkala (36) Executive Vice President & Partner, Kobayashi Group LLC
  • Marissa Sandblom (32) Vice President, Grove Farm Company, Inc. (Kauai)
  • Becky Niniau Simmons (42) Deputy Director, Office of Housing & Community (Hawai`i) Development, County of Hawai`i
  • Robert Stephenson (40) President, Molokai Chamber of Commerce; Consultant, Land Use Development(Molokai)  
  • Jason Suapaia (38) President, Pacific Focus Inc., dba 1013 Integrated
  • Craig Takamine (36) President, Takamine Construction, Inc. (Hawai`i)
  • Dwayne Takeno (39) Audit Partner, PKF Pacific Hawai`i LLP
  • Ryan Tanaka (30) Chief Operating & Financial Officer, Saint Louis School
  • Kimo Todd (38) Partner, Candon, Todd & Seabolt, LLC
  • Monica Toguchi (38) Vice President, Highway Inn, Inc.
  • Dana Tokioka (41) Account Executive, Atlas Insurance Agency
  • Thao Tu Tran (32) Associate Attorney, Kobayashi, Sugita & Goda
  • Jonas Vibell, Ph.D. (34) Senior Scientist, Archinoetics, LLC
  • Colin Yost (41) Principal & General Counsel, RevoluSun, LLC and Distributed Energy Partners, LLC
  • Kyle Yukumoto (39) Project Coordinator, R.M. Towill Corporation
The program will begin with a two-day retreat on September 23-24, 2011, featuring a series of seminars and discussions. Following the retreat, participants will help plan their agenda and schedule for the upcoming year and take part in at least one day-long program each month to investigate critical issues facing Hawaii in such areas as crime, education, environment, quality of life, the military, and the economy.